Evergreen Record details artwork

Niels Van Heertum: euphonium Joachim Badenhorst: clarinets, saxophone Eivind Lønning: trumpet Ruben Machtelinckx: guitar, banjo

Veder brings subtly layered compositions, frankly and freely played by the foursome.

Songs like Sedum, Klauwier and Lage Zwaluw are like stylized nature portraits, in which the volatility of nature is being retained in music. Fern - like a single fern plant - seems to be forming a large carpet, and slowly but surely occupies the free space. In that same free space arise Hemlock and Die immergrüne: composed instantly, but sounding just as clear and close.

With this debut Veder immediately makes its signature clear: naturally easy, but also delicately complex.