dissolution of the other
Poor Isa
dissolution of the other Record details artwork

Banjo and woodblocks are the scarce ingredients of Poor Isa's second album, ‘dissolution of the other’. The instruments can be used not only in their usual form, but in alternative tunings, with preparations and additional attributes. This creates an otherworldly vacuum, rich in silence and shadow, with sounds that seem equally familiar as mystical. The music is broken up from its classical form and sounds like an instrumental field recording or a musical ceremony.

In contrast to the first album - which consists of nine short, playful compositions and improvisations - the duo now opts for two composed, long works. Both are the elaboration of restrictions and a limited number of musical ideas. ‘Figures’ is reminiscent of early music, with modal harmony and a free tempo. It’s a piece that ripples on and sounds are blended while both players face each other as if they look in a mirror. ‘Drifter’ focuses on rhythmic develop- ment with a ABAB structure. While the A part has dripping unpredictability, the B part has an ongoing, pulsing sound. Making the whole sound like a insistent ritual.

Poor Isa is the duo of Ruben Machtelinckx and Frederik... more credits releases September 1, 2023

Frederik Leroux banjo, woodblocks, flute Ruben Machtelinckx banjo, woodblocks

All music composed and performed by Frederik Leroux and Ruben Machtelinckx

Recorded by Ted Masseurs at F17, March 2023 Mixed by Werner Pensaert at Linster Studio Mastered by Gert Van Hoof at Cochlea

Artwork © Philippe Vandenberg Foundation